cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Issue uploading images to my new wordpress site

So I created my new wordpress site yesterday, but every time I try to upload an image nothing happens! I click on upload media and nothing. I am a beginner and I have tried deactivating the one plugin I added to the site after it went live. And still nothing. So i cant play around with images or create posts. I've worked with a wordpress site before but just for blogging. BTW I dont receive an error code just nothing happens. 

I've been reading troubleshooting and its all jargan to me. Can someone please help and explain in very simple step by step?

Thank you!

8 REPLIES 8
Super User I Super User I
Super User I

Re: Issue uploading images to my new wordpress site

@fionagriffin15  What size are the images you are trying to upload?  If they are humungous this could be why you are experienceing what you are.  Usually high resolution camera images can be thousdands of pixels in size.  This is overkill considering the Web is 72 dpi.

Unless a specific image size is defined by your theme, for basic display purposes you don't need to upload anything larger than 1600 x 1600 pixels.  That's just a general rule of thumb that I use.

Try resizing/scaling your images down to a more manegable size and see if that makes a difference.

HTH! ;-)

Judith
"Worry is a misuse of imagination." ~Unknown

Hi Muse. 

thanks for the reply, my files are quiet small even some as small as thumbnails. The issue is that it does not let me select images. I tried to drag an image and it uploaded ok, but selecting an image and opening directly to the PC is just not working. which is so much faster i think.

Any ideas?

Super User I

@fionagriffin15  When things don't work as they should the first thing I think of is a plugin conflict.