cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Uploading Files to Public FTP folder with Dreamweaver

I really need some help with this. I'm a student studying web design and development on line. I've followed the tutiorial videos from the school on how to get online. I'm having a problem getting my files into the Public FTP folder.

The tutorial video says if the www or public folders aren't visable on Dreamweaver Remote Server then I should upload the files to the root directory. But when I do this it uploads the files to the home directory.

My domain displays this message...

Not Found

The requested URL / was not found on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

I've called GoDaddy tech support and was told that the files need to be in the Public FTP folder.
I just can't seem to find how to do this with Dreamweaver. It doesn't seem to give me the option.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable
Solution

Re: Uploading Files to Public FTP folder with Dreamweaver

Hi @DaveMetalife,

The public folder that support are referring to to be more exact is the 'public_html' folder. The underscore is an important part of that folder, it's not 'public html' for example. 

You would need to provide the path too in Dreamweaver as in http://example.com/public_html if I remember correctly. Once the built in FTP client is set up in dreamweaver, it's then easy going. But before you proceed, log into your account and carefully without moving or editing anything, explore your file system and see if you can see your files anywhere.

Adobe have excellent documentation unsurpassed in my humble view, but to help you along I have searched and found the following:

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=how+to+upload+a+dreamweaver+site+to+godaddy+hosting

and.....