Skip to main content

GoDaddy Help

Update my Microsoft 365 account to Exchange in Mail (Mac)

If you're currently using Microsoft 365 as POP or IMAP, switch it to an Exchange account. Using an Exchange account ensures your data (including mail, contacts and calendars) stays connected with your email and is recoverable from the server.

Step 1: Move your data

  1. Open Mail.
  2. From the menu bar, select Mail > Preferences.
    select mail and then select preferences
  3. Select Accounts.
  4. Select + (plus) > Microsoft Exchange > Continue.
    select plus, microsoft exchange, and then select continue
  5. Enter your Name and Email Address, and then select Sign In.
  6. Select Sign In again to let Microsoft locate your account information.
  7. Enter your email Password, and then select Sign In (You might need to select your account type as Work or school, not Personal, to continue).
  8. If your admin enabled multi-factor authentication (MFA), verify your account or set up the Authenticator app.
  9. The app will request permission to your account. Select Accept.
  10. Select Done to confirm the apps you want to use with this account.

Your email account is now added.

Required: Before deleting or disabling your POP or IMAP account, please compare it with your new Exchange account to make sure all your emails, folders, calendars, contacts and other data are present. If anything's missing, drag and drop the item from your POP or IMAP account into your Exchange account.

Step 2: Disable or delete your POP or IMAP account

Once Exchange is added and no data is missing, disable or delete your POP or IMAP account.

Warning: If you want to delete your account, please make sure you have all your data in your new Exchange account before continuing. After you delete your account, your data isn't recoverable.
  1. From the menu bar, select Mail > Preferences.
    select mail and then select preferences
  2. Select Accounts.
  3. Select your POP or IMAP account, then choose whether to disable or delete your account.
    • Disable your account: Under Account Information, uncheck the box next to Enable this account.
      uncheck box next to enable this account
    • Delete your account: Select (minus), and then select OK to confirm you want to delete the account. After your account's deleted, your mail, contacts and calendar aren't recoverable.
      select minus symbol under account you want to remove

When you close the account window, you'll only see your Exchange account listed in Mail.

More info